Durham County Golf Union

A short history of the

Durham County Golf Veterans Association 

In 1967, Frank Boulton (Wearside) received the Committee's approval to circularise all Union Clubs informing them of the intention to form a County Veterans Society.  The response to the letter was encouraging and resulted in a meeting at Durham City Golf Club on the 5th December 1967, where the "Durham County Golf Veterans Association" was formed with the membership being restricted to 100 for the first year.  Frank Boulton became the Association's first Secretary the following year.

The first Spring Meeting was at South Shields in May 1968 where 53 members played nine holes in the morning and eighteen holes after lunch.  The following year, Spring Summer and Autumn competitions were held, culminating with a Dinner in November.  All of these were to become annual events.  Later as a Dinner Dance in the Ramside Hotel, J.V. Todd was elected Hon. Life member of the Veterans Association in recognition of his services to golf.  Consett members of the Association presented two cups to be competed for in a four-ball competition at the annual Summer Meeting in 1873.  They were dedicated to the late Mr F.D. Dobson and were presented to the first winners at the Annual Dinner, E. Ellis (Bishop Auckland) and W. Maddison (Seaton Carew).

The following year "The Auckland Goblets" were presented by Bishop Auckland, then later George Howe (Darlington) donated two Cups for the Spring Meeting.  Now there were Trophies for all the Association's Competitions held during the season.  With the Association becoming more and more popular it became necessary to increase the maximum number to 175.  Then new ground was broken in 1976 when Inter County Matches began against Northumberland, Yorkshire and Cumbria, and later against Lancashire and Cheshire.  In 1978 the constitution was changed and the age was increased to 60 years of age.

Association member R.B. Turner (Wearside) had received International Honours by representing England Seniors against Ireland, Sweden and Wales in Ireland (2000).

In 2003 Ken Davidson (Brancepeth Castle) presented the Association with a Trophy for the new scratch competition.

In November 2006 the Veterans age reverted back to the original 55 years of age.

This article was taken from the Durham County Golf Union's Centenary book 1908-2008.

In 2019 Geoff Dunn (Garesfield) presented the Association with Trophies for a new 4 ball better ball competition.

 In 2021 following a request from members the Ken Davidson Trophy will be played as a 4 ball better ball competition from 2022 onwards.

Past Chairmen.

1967 - 1972   S. Bell Darlington G.C.
1973 - 1974 T.W. Ellison Consett G.C
1975 - 1976 W. Ramsay Ravensworth G.C.
1977 - 1980 F.W. Tillyer Crook G.C.
1981 - 1982 Dr. J.J. Kinsella Whitburn G.C.
1983 - 1984 J.R. Millar Tyneside G.C.
1985 - 1986 J. Carr Bishop Auckland G.C.
1987 - 1988 D. Lister Brancepeth castle G.C.
1989 - 1990 H. Smith Chester Le Street G.C.
1991 - 1992 L. Oughton Bishop Auckland G.C.
1993 - 1994 D. Green Darlington G.C.
1995 - 1996 J. Alty Brancepeth Castle G.C.  
1997 - 1998 K.G. Davidson Brancepeth castle G.C.
1999 - 2000 B.E. Carter Blackwell Grange G.C.
2001 - 2002 J. Bailey Tyneside G.C.
2003 - 2010 R.C. Sheppard Knotty Hill G.C.
2011 - 2012 D. Self Eaglescliffe G.C.
2013 - 2014 G. Smith Ramside G.C.
2015 - W.G. Dunn M.B.E.   Garesfield G.C.


Past Captains.

1995 - 1998   D. Green   Darlington G.C.  
1999 - 2002    K.G. Davidson     Brancepeth Castle G.C.    
2003 - 2006 R.B. Turner Wearside G.C.
2007 - 2008 D. Self Seaton Carew G.C.
2009 - 2010 J. Still Eaglescliffe G.C.
2011 - 2012 J.L. Naisby Wearside G.C.
2013 - 2014 J.C. Brown Eaglescliffe G.C.
2015 - 2017 G.J. Golightly South Moor G.C.
2018 -  K. McAllister South Shields G.C.


Past Secretary/Treasurers.

1967 - 1982      F.M. Boulton Wearside G.C.
1983 - 1986 A.O. Lancaster      Seaton Carew G.C.     
1987 - 2000 J. Armstrong Durham City G.C.
2001 - 2013 D. Livingston Castle Eden G.C.
2014 - 2016 C.A. Camp Crook G.C.
2017 - P.T. Dewar Wearside G.C.




Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.